Home /  / Contact / Sitemap / Glossary

Railway transport

Kyrgyz railway is represented as executive authority of the State Enterprise «National Company Kyrgyz Temir Jolu» at the Ministry of Transport and Communications of the Kyrgyz Republic (GP «NC KTZ»). Location: Kyrgyzstan, Bishkek city, street. Lev Tolstoy, 83.

Currently, the total length of railways in the Kyrgyz Republic is 424.6 km. The railway network is represented by separate, unrelated lines, geographically divided into two sections - the north (323.4 km) and south (101.2 km), providing output from Kyrgyzstan to the railway network in neighboring states - Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan.

GP "NC" Kyrgyz Temir Joly "has a total of 28 railway stations.

The route network of trains of the Kyrgyz railway consists of commuter trains operating to local directions of "Bishkek-Balykchi", "Bishkek-Tokmok", "Bishkek-Merke" and international directions "Bishkek-Moscow", "Bishkek-Yekaterinburg", "Bishkek-Novosibirsk- Novokuznetsk and "Moscow-Bishkek". Also run trailer cars as Kyrgyz and Russian formation  to directions of Volgograd, Chelyabinsk, Saratov, Kurgan, Penza.

Six new locomotives of TE33A EVOLUTION series were purchased and commissioned in 2013-2016.


In addition, the following projects are being developed:

- Construction of a new railway line north-south "Russia-Kazakhstan-Kyrgyzstan-Tajikistan"

- Construction of railways "Balykchi-Kochkor Karakeche", "Karakeche-railroad line '

- Electrification of the Lugovaya- Alamedin railway section

- Implementation of the program to update and modernize the infrastructure of railway track facilities

- Implementation of the Program for Modernization and replenishment of rolling stock

In international cooperation, the Kyrgyz Railway is a party:

- Central Council for Rail Transport of the Commonwealth and the States (TSSZHT), established by the Agreement on the coordination of rail transport at the international level and the development of agreed principles of the CIS member states, adopted on 14 February 1992 in the city of Minsk, Belarus;

- Organization of the Commonwealth Railways (ORC), established in 1956 at the Meeting of ministers responsible Rail (Sofia, Bulgaria). Agreement on joining OSJD signed by the Ministry of Transport and Communications of the Kyrgyz Republic of May 30, 1995 in Hanoe, Vietnam;

- Agreement on Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO), formed in 1985, the countries of Central Asia and the Middle East;

- Agreement "Transport Corridor Europe-Caucasus-Asia" (TRACECA). In September 1998, at a summit in Baku 12 TRACECA countries signed the "Basic Multilateral Agreement on International Transport for Development of the Europe-Caucasus-Asia" (OMC).

Bilateral and multilateral agreements on the coordination of rail transport are signed with neighboring countries. Kyrgyz-Kazakh, Kyrgyz, Uzbek, Kyrgyz-Russian, Kyrgyz-Iranian, Kyrgyz-Turkmen, Kyrgyz-Turkish intergovernmental commission meetings are organized during which issues concerning the regulation of rail transport are discussed always.

Also, Kyrgyz Railway takes part in the implementation of decisions concerning matters of rail transport, adopted within the Eurasian Economic Community (EEC) and the Central Asian Cooperation Organization (CACO).